the park

yesterday we walked to the park…

when all 4 kids were home I would take them to the park once a day, sometimes twice just to get out of the house. yesterday was the first time in a while i said let’s go to the park to just the two little ones. i’m glad we went it was beautiful outside. it was nice to just sit and watch them play.

the Monk and I were riding in the car the other day listen to Robin Young on NPR interview a social psychologist about the effects of technology on relationships and today’s youth. what struck a cord with me was the bit about children viewing phones, computers, tablets, ect. as competition. she was saying how children are learning that they are not the center of their parents world at a young age because mom or dad is always “plugged in.”  it has made me really pay attention to how I interact with my children and technology. For example I will take my phone out to take pictures at the park but I’ve stopped texting or Facebook’in it. I’m there for them and I should be watching attentively. Anther thing she discussed was that children don’t see their parents reading books because they are reading their screens but young children don’t associate that with reading. So in vain i think i have been trying to show the kids that the kindle is a book. I don’t think they really care either way but I don’t know I think it’s important for then to know me and the dad are doing what we keep telling them is important.

I battle with trying to keep things simple and old school and accepting it’s almost 2013 and kids have to be savvy with technology. the best thing is probably a balance of both, the know how to use what’s out there and the appreciation of paper and pencil.

on another note: today

was great until I picked the big kids up from school. they have just been wearing on me the past few… a while

it’s a different form of testing. it’s like they just want to fight with us and with each other.  we don’t raise our voices the entire time they are at school then boom! i just need to figure it out so we can move forward. it’s just killing me though it starts first thing in morning with complaints about breakfast, putting shoes on, wearing a jacket. it is ALWAYS stupid little things, that normally i would be like who cares but because it has been nonstop I just want to cry. oh and to put a cherry on top the bear has decided that she no longer requires a crib or naps. the crib i can accept. the naps… FAT CHANCE little lady.

they are each doing one thing to stand out.. i can see that. and to a point I understand it too. there are four very individual little people all needing and wanting the attention of two people that are very tired. and as their parents it’s our job to give it to them and teach them how to be okay on their own.

so if anyone has figured this how please let me know how…

Leave a Reply

