be brave

My mind is all over the place today, I’ve started about a dozen intros but lost my train of thought… Sounds about right

I’ve been thinking a lot about how much I appreciate having others to bounce off of. I am so fortunate to have supportive folks in my life. Not only supportive but honest. I like honestly. I like when I’m at the park and I ask a stranger how they are and they say what they are actually thinking… ” I’m feeling really tired, we have a new baby and I don’t feel like I’m giving my other kids enough attention.” I think it’s safe to say most parent’s have felt that way, even parent’s with one kids can say they don’t feel like they are always giving the kid enough. When strangers are honest to each other  I feel we are human. That for that moment as long as it may last (that 30 minutes you share at the park together) you’re free to connect on a human level, no expectations, no judgment. It reminds me of when I was a kid and you saw another kid and you were friends. As we grow up finding and maintaining friends doesn’t seem as easy. At least It didn’t for me from about 15 to 20 something. But then I let my guard down I guess with old friends and new people I’ve met along the way and theses people are my favorite people in the world. The kind you can call up with nothing or everything and either is okay.

I’m sure I was going somewhere with that but I feel like it was more of a ramble then a point.

I guess what I’m trying to say is it has served me well to start up that conversation, to be honest, to be human. And don’t get me wrong there have been many many folks out there that I didn’t connect with or wished that I would just stop talking to them. And that’s cool too ( I say with a half smile) But making a connection even if for a short time is enough.

Leave a Reply

